European Master's Program in Computational Logic



Students who meet the following conditions are eligible to apply:

  1. Bachelor's degree in Computer Science or Mathematics (Bologna first cycle) or an equivalent degree.

  2. Extensive knowledge in the areas

    • Foundations of Mathematical Logic,
    • Foundations of Artificial Intelligence,
    • Declarative Programming, and
    • Theoretical Computer Science.
  3. Adequate knowledge of English.

Female applicants are strongly encouraged to apply.

The application procedure of consists of two parts: Online Application and the Final Admission. For the year 2016 the application system is now open, and we inform about acceptance until 20 June.

The evaluation of applications will be performed as specified in the regulations. We recommend each applicant to carefully read our Tips.

1. Online Application

Submit the following documents in the online application system:

  • Registration form of Technische Universit├Ąt Dresden (TUD): Non-German students and German students
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Letter of motivation
  • Copy of passport
  • Reports on university examinations (transcripts)
  • Diploma (first degree or bachelor degree). If the bachelor degree will only be available after the deadline for application, applicants are required to send us a preliminary certificate. This document must be signed and stamped by the home university and give the information when the studies will be finished and the final degree will be issued.
  • Two recommendation letters
  • English language certificate.

The online application system is available until 31 May.

2. Final Admission

If the Selection Board has accepted you as candidate for the European Master's Program in Computational Logic you are requested to send three complete sets of the following documents (one originally certified copy and two duplicates)

All copies of the original transcripts and degrees must be authenticated as true copies of the originals with a stamp and signature by an authorized institution (i. e. German embassy, consulate, public notary). The accuracy of the attached English translation of the documents must be confirmed. If your documents comply with the formal requirements you will be admitted to the program and receive the official admission letters.

Please send them by mail ASAP to the following address:

EMCL Secretary
International Center for Computational Logic
Department of Computer Science
Technische Universit├Ąt Dresden
01062 Dresden

After arrival at TUD at the beginnig of October, students are required to submit the Dichiarazione di Valore (DV): This document is issued by the competent Italian diplomatic authorities in the country where the student received his/her bachelor degree. More information on this document will be provided by the on enquiry by email.


Previous students experienced visa problems. We therefore recommend...

  • to all applicants to submit TOEFL- or IELTS-reports for the English language certificate as these certificates may be requested in the visa procedure.
  • to Chinese, Vietnamese and Mongolian students to apply for the APS certificate at an early stage.


Please contact the .