All About EMCL

3.24 Common Grading System

The grades in the common grading system have the following meaning:
1 = excellent outstanding performance;
2 = good performance above average standard;
3 = satisfactory  performance meets average standard;
4 = adequate performance meets minimal demands in spite of deficits;
5 = inadequate performance fails to meet demands due to severe deficits.

For a refined assessment, intermediate values are used by increasing or reducing the individual grade by 0.3; the particular values 0.7, 4.3, 4.7, and 5.3 may not be used. The grades mentioned above must be used to grade individual exams.

If the module examination consists of several partial examinations according to the module description, the final grade is calculated by means of some formula - quite often the arithmetic mean - of the grades obtained in exams of courses this module is composed of. Further values not occurring among the grades mentioned in the table above may occur. All decimal places after the first one have to be cancelled (without rounding).

The module grades based on this calculation have the following meaning:
up to 1.5 inclusive = excellent;
1.6 up to 2.5 inclusive =good;
2.6 up to 3.5 inclusive = satisfactory;
3.6 up to 4.0 inclusive =adequate;
above 4.0 =inadequate.